Collaboration and Permissions
Einblick is a thoroughly collaborative environment; you can quickly and easily share your analysis with others. You can also work simultaneously with others over voice or video to easily solve problems.
Each object (e.g. canvas, dataset) you create in Einblick has permissions associated with it. By default, the permission on a given object is private, meaning nobody else can access it.
To share an object with someone, you must grant them permissions for it. You can give them View permissions, allowing them to see the object, or Edit permissions, allowing them to modify and delete the item as they wish.
Main Menu Sharing
In the main menu, you can share an object with others through the Share menu, available by right-clicking on any object you own or have Edit permissions for. For example, here is the Share menu for a canvas.
You can directly invite individual users by email and grant them view or edit permissions through this dialog. In the previous example, two users have been invited to the canvas, one with view permissions, and one with edit permissions.
In the next example, everyone with the link is given permission to edit the canvas.
Canvas and Dashboard Menu Sharing
Permissions can also be modified in canvases and dashboards directly using the Share button in the top right menu.
Accessing Shared Items
Once an item (e.g. a canvas) has been shared with a user, that user can access it through the main menu, using the Shared with me filter on the left.
Implied Permissions in Canvases and Dashboards
Associated datasets, data connectors, and objects are automatically shared with view permissions to anyone who can access the parent object. For example, if you share a canvas containing a private dataset, then anyone with access to the canvas can also view the dataset, but only in the context of the shared canvas. If an otherwise private object is made available to other users in a specific canvas or dashboard, it will not be available to these users outside of the canvas or in the main menu.
In canvases and dashboards, the sharing dialog provides an option to copy the link to the object, which may be more convenient for quickly sharing something with other users.
If you want a link to point to a specific operator in a canvas, you can use the Copy operator link option available by right-clicking the desired operator.
Once you have shared a canvas, you can collaborate on it in real-time with other users. If a user has View permissions, they will be able to view the canvas but not change anything; if they have Edit permissions, they will be able to freely edit the canvas. When multiple users are using a canvas, you will see everyone's icon in the top right, along with their cursors in the canvas.
When collaborating with other users, it may be helpful to follow their movements and actions. You can do this by using the lock-on mode. To enter into this mode, you click on a users collaborator icon. When you have entered lock-on mode, you will see an outline indicating your are following someone.
Another feature helpful for collaboration is the live mode. This mode will create a video bubble at your cursor, and will allow you to see and talk to the canvas collaborators in real time. To enter live mode, you can click the go live button in the top right menu.